The Theatre Department at Newman Smith High School began in 1977 under the direction of Mildred A. Peveto.

Newman Smith Theatre is proud to continue the tradition of excellence, dedication, and professionalism towards the Theatrical Arts that she began. We have a rich history of One Act Play achievements, dedicated Directors, and highly motivated and talented students.

NSHS received a Special Emphasis Award in Fine Arts/Performing Arts Education from the National Endowment For The Art in 1998. In 2017 we received 4th place at the 5A State UIL One Act Play Contest and in 2018 we advanced to Region. 

Current Directors: Lindsay Power-Key and Abby Kraemer

Former Directors

Abby Lynch Kraemer

Tyler Brodess

Lisa Hale

Patricia Mills 

Michael Valentine

Jennifer Bader

Jillian Smith

Stephanie Duckham

Patrick O'Neil

Dawn Scattolini

David Miller

Beverly Pendery

Tee Quillin

Anatasia Pharr

Cathy Gullo

Deborah Jolly

Kelsey Dardeau